Yea, There’s Cupcake Wine

I think it’s obvious that I love cupcakes!  So, a while ago, when all my blogs started raving about cupcake wine, my little ears perked up and I started Googling it like a maniac.  The wine is made by Cupcake Vineyards and it does not taste like cupcakes, but it certainly has the cutest label.  So far all I have found out about Cupcake Vineyards is that they make a Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Merlot. 

When I saw that they sold the Chardonnay at World Market and they had a store near my dad’s work, I got him in on the hunt!  Being the sweet man he is, he went immediately to World Market and couldn’t find it.  I was devastated!  But being the good daughter I am, I patted my dad on the head and told him “Nice try, better luck next time Buck-o!”  And I then moved onto other things.

Last weekend, my beau and I ended up at a local tavern’s liquor store to buy beer for the Super Bowl.  The Gods shined down on me and sitting right by the entrance of the liquor store was a bottle of Cupcake Vineyards Cabernet.  I let out a little squeal . . . maybe not so little because my beau immediately turned around and asked me what happened.  With a wild look in my eyes and a Cheshire Cat-like smile on my face, I revealed to him the bottle of wine that was now cradled in my arms.  He told me we could get it and well, that was that.

The next day, my mom and I sat down to watch “Mamma Mia” and try the wine out. 

Our verdict?  Mom liked it enough, especially because it was only about $10.00.  I didn’t care for it too much.  It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t a good wine.  There was nothing particularly exciting or interesting about it.  But, we drank it, sang along with the movie, and eventually killed the bottle.  I also decided that I still would like to try the Chardonnay.  So, we’ll see.

And for that bottle?  It now sits on my dresser and waits to be put on display in a real cupcake kitchen.

cupcakechardonnay

For my baker friends, here’s a recipe!  You should bake them and mail them to me.  It’ll be a nice Valentine’s Day present.

Blackberry Cabernet Cupcakes
Cupcakes:
1 cup butter
1 cup white sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp baking powder
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
2 Tbsp Hershey Special Dark cocoa powder
125 mL (1/2 cup) cabernet sauvignon + 2 Tbsp
Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a large bowl, mix butter sugar and eggs until smooth and creamy; add the vanilla and mix well.
In a small bowl, mix baking powder and flour; add to creamed mixture.
Add red wine and mix well, but be carefull not to overmix. Add cocoa powder.
Scoop batter into prepared muffin tins and bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
Let cool completely on wire racks.

Brush all of the cupcakes with cabernet. (Uses about 2 Tbsp total)

Frosting:
1 cup blackberries
about 1/2 cup Cabernet
1/2 cup butter
3 cups powdered sugar
milk

Place blackberries and cabernet in small saucepan and bring to a simmer. Reduce until blackberries mash easily and wine is syrupy. Strain, pressing on seeds to extract all the liquid. Blackberry Cabernet sauce should equal a little less than a quarter cup.

Beat butter in mixer until creamy. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk until a semi thick spreading consistency is reached. Add Blackberry Cabernet sauce. The frosting should be a little on the soft side.

Assembly:
Once the cupcakes have completely cooled, frost with the Blackberry Cabernet frosting. Place one firm blackberry in the center of each cupcake. Sift some Hershey Special Dark cocoa onto the cupcakes.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

