Heart Attack-Free Comfort Foods

On the Food Network’s “Next Food Network Star,” they always ask for the contestants to give their culinary point of view.  For me, that is always what brings me to watch a show.  If they are making meals that are relevant to how I like to eat, I am more likely to watch.

During the process of these shows, I usually imagine to myself what my culinary point of view would be if I were competing and how I would incorporate that point of view if I were ever to compete.  Of course, since I am not actually a chef and not actually competing, it’s pretty easy to imagine how much butt I would kick!

So, what would my point of view be?  Hearty comfort foods gone healthy!  I’d show people how to make delicious juicy burgers, meatloaf, mac and cheese, shepherd’s pie with less fat than usual.  And, I would also try to offer them alternatives that are inspired by those dishes.

So, imagine my surprise this morning when I started playing around on Real Simple’s website and found a list of 9 recipes titled “Classic Comfort Foods Made Healthy.”  How dare they steal my point of view?!?

I’m thinking about trying the mac and cheese recipe the next time Mike and I are craving something not quite so healthy!  If you want to get a little more adventurous with your mac and cheese, check out Heidi Swanson’s recipe for Baked Spelt Macaroni with Cashew Cheddar Cheese.  Or, just go to her website and look at all her beautiful food pictures!

macncheese

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Heidi Swanson, 101 Cookbooks

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

