I Like You Too, Amy

While waiting for The Office to come on last night, I stumbled across Amy Sedaris’ book tour for “I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence.”

This book is one of my favorite gifts to bring a party hostess or as a default gift to a fellow pseudo-party planning lover.  There is really no faults to this book, and it makes me happy whenever I look at it.  My dad, who is one of the only other people I know who share my sense of humor, likes the book so much that he once opened it up and started reading to me all the parts he thought was funny.  It got to a point where I asked him to be quiet and that I would read the book to myself.  He was quiet for about five minutes before getting started again.

Really, if you haven’t picked this up, flipped through it, and purchased it, then go to the bookstore now!

ilikeyou

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amy also makes cupcakes and cheeseballs in her kitchen under the business name “Dusty Food Cupcakes.”   She occassionally sells the cupcakes at a coffee shop called Joe in Greenwich Village, NY (at least that’s what I read).  I wish I had managed to meet her when I was in NY.  I would have happily stalked Amy, shrunk her down, and put her in my pocket.  And, of course, she came and spoke in Frederick, MD this fall and I was a jerk and missed it!

Here’s her cupcake recipe, enjoy!

Amy Sedaris’ Cupcakes

1 ½ sticks of unsalted butter
1 ¾ cups of sugar

Beat well, then add:

Add 2 large eggs
2 Teaspoons of pure vanilla
½ teaspoon of salt
2 ½ teaspoons of baking powder
2 ½ cups of flour
1 ¼ cups of milk

Beat well, fill cups, and bake at 375 degrees for 18-20 minutes. You should get 24. I get 18, ’cause I’m doing something wrong.

Frosting

1 stick of unsalted butter
1 box of Domino confectionary sugar
¼ cup half-and-half
1 teaspoon of pure vanilla

Whip for a while, color if you want.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

