Tofu Sweets

After trying my mom’s birthday lemon meringue and then looking at Weight Watcher’s point value for lemon meringue (10 for a small slice for thos of you who keep track), I started looking for a dessert that I could make that had the best qualities of lemon meringue for not a whole lot of points.

I was playing around on Martha Stewart’s website and found my answer!  Lemon Cream with Blackberries! Three points, lemon flavor, and very very easy to make.

In the end, I liked it but wasn’t in love with it.  I would probably do a few things differently.  The lemon and honey flavor kind of reminded me of those lemon and honey cough drops that I suck on when I have a sore throat.  I added some addition lemon to try to curb that flavor, but accidentally ended up making it too lemony and sour.  I think next time I would try to throw in a little Splenda and maybe a little less honey.  But, on a good note, I tried using tofu for the first time ever, loved the consistency it gave the lemon cream, and found a sweet that is only 3 points ( 196 calories; 2 g fat; 2 g fiber)!

Now, I think that if I replace the lemon and honey with coconut milk and limes and put a little splash of malibu rum on top, I could make a killer Key Lime Colada dessert!

LEMON CREAM WITH BLACKBERRIES

lemondessert

INGREDIENTS

Serves 4.

  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon zest
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 package (12 ounces) silken tofu, firm or extra-firm, drained
  • 1 cup fresh blackberries * I used raspberries instead

DIRECTIONS

  1. Combine 2 1/2 teaspoons of the lemon zest, lemon juice, honey, and tofu in a blender.
  2. Puree ingredients until smooth, scraping down sides of blender with rubber spatula as necessary.
  3. Divide lemon cream evenly among four bowls or serving glasses. Garnish each portion with blackberries and reserved lemon zest. Serve immediately or refrigerate.
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

