Celebrating the Super Bowl in Style

untitled

I’m missing the Super Bowl this Sunday because I will be on a flight heading home from a warm mini-vacation in West Palm Beach, Florida.  Trips there are a perk to having an older sibling who plays/works/lives golf.  Unfortunately, the Baltimore Ravens and the NY Giants (my beau’s team) aren’t playing, so I don’t care too much about missing the game. 

If I were to be at a Super Bowl Party tomorrow, I would probably bring Buffalo Chicken Dip.  It’s easy, it’s simple, and always gets eaten.  If you have a sensitive mouth like me, substitute BBQ sauce for the hot sauce and trust me, you’ll enjoy it.  My beau also uses blue cheese instead of ranch dressing when he makes it.

For my dieting friends, a serving has 284 calories, 22.6 grams of fat, and 0.9 grams of fiber.  That adds up to about 7 Weight Watchers points per serving.  It can be made a little more diet friendly if you use lowfat and nonfat sour cream, ranch dressing, and cheese, but who really worries about their diet on Super Bowl Sunday?

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Ingredients:
2 (10 ounce) cans chunk chicken, drained
2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese,
softened
1 cup Ranch dressing
3/4 cup pepper sauce, such as Franks®
Red Hot®
1 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
 
1 bunch celery, cleaned and cut into 4 inch
pieces
1 (8 ounce) box chicken-flavored crackers
Directions:
1. Heat chicken and hot sauce in a skillet over medium heat, until heated through. Stir in cream cheese and ranch dressing. Cook, stirring until well blended and warm. Mix in half of the shredded cheese, and transfer the mixture to a slow cooker. Sprinkle the remaining cheese over the top, cover, and cook on Low setting until hot and bubbly. Serve with celery sticks and crackers.

* I have cooked this recipe differently in the past.  I have boiled the chicken until cooked and then break it down into edible pieces.  I have then thrown all ingredients into a pyrex pan and just stuck it into the oven until everything melts together and the cheese starts to bubble.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

