Adventures in Top Chef’s Kitchen

One thing I love about watching cooking shows is seeing chefs who work in my area compete.  I typically look up where their restaurant is located and mark it down as a place to check out.  It was much easier to follow the path of some of these chefs when I lived in New York — two favorites were Perilla, who boasts Top Chef Season 1 winner, Harold Dietrle as head chef, and Surf Bar, whose chef once appeared on Throwdown with Bobby Flay on the Food Network.

So, I got very excited this season of Top Chef when I saw that there was one chef from Baltimore, MD and one from Washington, DC.  The chef from Baltimore, Jill, got kicked to the curb early in the show, but Carla from DC is hanging in there!

Unfortunately, Carla runs a catering service so I can’t sample some of her goodies, but I can easily visit the restaurant where Jill works, Red Maple, on Charles Street in Downtown Baltimore.  Charles Street is one of my favorite areas in Baltimore to go out, and I actually visited Red Maple about 3 or 4 years ago for a co-worker’s goodbye party.  I don’t know if Jill worked there at the time, and I have to admit, I didn’t eat anything there, I just drank, but I found it to be a pretty cool place with a great vibe.  I wasn’t planning on ever going again, but I might check it out just for the novelty of visting the restaurant of a Top Chef competitor.

I also recently heard that Spike from Season 4 has opened a burger joint in Washington, DC called Good Stuff Eatery.  I love burgers, Spike was easily one of my favorite contestants from Season 4, and I think I can lure my beau to make a visit to Good Stuff as a pre-Caps game meal.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

