Would you Like Some Cheese to go Along with that Wine?

marthawine11Martha also had a pretty decent article in her newest Martha Stewart Living issue that focuses on navigating your way through a wine store.  I know that figuring out what kind of wine you want can be made overwhelming when you first need to find out how the wine is organized.  In the article, Martha explains how wine stores are generally set-up and recommends a few inexpensive wines.

How do I choose the wine I drink?  First we try to avoid going to the liquor store by ordering wine through a restaurant located in Columbia, MD called the Iron Bridge Wine Company.  Each month the Iron Bridge Wine Company offers wine bargains – 12 wines for $12.00 or less with a 20% discount for every case (mixed or just one kind of wine) that you want.  My parents and I chip in together and get a mixed case of wine about every other month or so, we drink what we want and save the rest for later.  We have found that the Iron Bridge Wine Company’s recommendations are solid and they have excellent customer service.

I have also found a few of my affordable wine staples from the Wine Company’s monthly bargains.  A favorite red wine of mine is Smoking Loon Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot.  I’m a bit of a sucker for packaging — usually if I don’t know what I want, I pick up whatever has a label that I think looks fun — and the bright red and yellow label for Smoking Loon certainly does it for me.  Smoking Loon also has an easy and smooth flavor.  Not overpowering and doesn’t have the sickingly sweet taste that can sometimes accompany cheap wine. 

Where it’s not the best Cabernet I’ve ever had, I think it’s solid for a night where you want to curl up on the couch with that someone you love, eat some chinese food, and watch a movie (can you tell that that’s what I usually do with my Smoking Loon?)!

890533

 

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

